Assault Defense Lawyer in Milwaukee, WI
Charged with Assault or Battery in Milwaukee County?
An assault or battery charge can be a very serious matter. In Wisconsin, assault is a type of disorderly conduct. It is a misdemeanor punishable by up to $10,000 in fines and/or up to nine months in jail. If the assault involved the use of a dangerous weapon, the penalties will be more severe. If you are convicted of assault, you will also have to deal with the negative effects that a conviction will have on your life.
You may not be able to get a job or a loan if you have an assault conviction on your record. You will also have a criminal record that will follow you for the rest of your life. You need the help of a Milwaukee assault attorney at Ahmad & Nolan Defense
if you are facing an assault charge.
What is Assault?
In Wisconsin, assault laws are typically addressed under the broader category of battery. Under Wisconsin law, battery refers to intentionally causing bodily harm to another person without their consent. There are different degrees of battery, and the severity of the offense determines the potential penalties.
Simple battery refers to intentionally causing bodily harm to another person. On the other hand, aggravated battery involves causing substantial bodily harm or intending to cause great bodily harm to another person.
Penalties for Battery in Wisconsin
Simple battery is a Class A misdemeanor in Wisconsin, punishable by up to 9 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
Aggravated battery can be charged as a Class E felony, punishable by imprisonment for up to 15 years and/or a fine of up to $50,000. However, if aggravated battery is committed by a prisoner or a sexually violent individual or is committed against a police officer or public official, then the offense is a Class H felony, which carries a maximum prison term of six years and/or a fine of up to $10,000. Battery by someone under a restraining order is a Class I felony, punishable by imprisonment for up to three and a half years and/or a maximum fine of $10,000.
How a Milwaukee Assault Attorney Can Help
An assault attorney can help you to get your charges reduced or dismissed. An attorney may be able to show that you did not mean to cause harm to another person. It may be possible to show that you did not know that your actions would cause harm. Your attorney may also be able to show that you had a good reason to commit the assault. For example, if someone was attacking you, you may have a good reason to defend yourself. Your attorney may be able to show that the police did not follow proper procedures when they arrested you. If your rights were violated, you may be able to get your charges dismissed.