Domestic Violence

Domestic Violence Attorneys Milwaukee

Schedule a Free Consultation to Discuss Your Case

From the moment an alleged victim or witness reports to the police that you have committed a domestic violence offense, your life can change. An accusation can lead to an arrest, and certain restrictions may be placed on you. If you’re found guilty of the crime, you could be subject to various penalties, including jail time and/or fines. On top of that, you can face collateral consequences of a conviction, such as encountering challenges retaining or obtaining employment or finding a place to live.

Because the stakes are so high in these types of matters, you need help from a Milwaukee domestic violence attorney who knows how to effectively handle your case and will do everything in their legal power to defend your innocence.

At Ahmad & Nolan Defense, our Milwaukee domestic violence lawyers have extensive legal experience and an in-depth understanding of the laws concerning your rights. When you hire us, you’ll have two attorneys working toward a favorable outcome in your case. Employing a team approach, we thoroughly review every aspect of your situation, research relevant case law, and conduct interviews with witnesses. Our strategy allows us to build effective defenses and present compelling arguments both in and out of court.

We’re ready to protect your rights and freedom. Speak with us by calling (414) 501-5999 today.

What’s Wisconsin’s Domestic Violence Law?

In Wisconsin, you can be accused of a domestic abuse offense if you allegedly harm or attempt to harm a family or household member. A family or household member is a spouse or ex-spouse, current or former roommate, or someone with whom you share a child.

The law defines domestic abuse as:

  • Intentionally causing pain, injury, or illness
  • Intentionally impairing someone’s physical condition
  • Committing first-, second, or third-degree sexual assault on another
  • Causing another person to fear that they will be subject to the abuse listed above

When police receive a report of a domestic violence incident, the responding officer will arrest the person they deem to be the “prominent aggressor.” Meaning the person who has caused the most substantial injury, and not necessarily the one who engaged in the alleged conduct first.

The officer will consider many factors when determining who the predominant aggressor is, including:

  • The severity of the injuries
  • Witness statements
  • Past history of abuse
  • Whether either person involved has threatened to commit future harm

What’s important to note about Wisconsin’s domestic violence laws is that if you’re arrested, you will be prohibited from contacting the alleged victim for 72 hours after the arrest. The restriction means that you cannot go to their home or any place they might be. You also cannot personally contact them or have anyone else contact them for you. If you violate this order, you could be subject to a fine of up to $10,000 and/or a jail term of up to 9 months.

What Are the Penalties for Domestic Abuse in Wisconsin?

Wisconsin prosecutes domestic violence offenses under the statutes concerning the alleged conduct, and the penalties are those assessed for the underlying crime. For instance, if substantially bodily harm is caused to the alleged victim, the act would be penalized under the state’s battery law. This specific offense is a Class I felony. The penalties include imprisonment for up to 3 years and 6 months and/or a fine of up to $10,000.

Additionally, the penalties can be increased for an individual considered to be “domestic abuse repeater.” That is, someone who has violated the 72-hour no-contact order by committing another act of domestic abuse, or someone who has been convicted of 2 or more domestic abuse crimes within 10 years before the current offense. In such a situation, the term of incarceration is increased by 2 years.

Get the Legal Help You Need

At Ahmad & Nolan Defense, our Milwaukee domestic violence lawyers know that there are two sides to every story, and some allegations of abuse are made falsely or arise out of a misunderstanding. That is why we provide compassionate guidance for those facing charges. When you turn to us, you will get the personalized attention you deserve. We will listen to your account of the alleged incident to develop a strategy for your unique case.

To get started, contact us at (414) 501-5999.

Felony Dismissed / Fleeing Amended to a Ticket

OWI 3rd Felony Offense

Early Release Programming

2nd Degree Reckless Homicide


Manufacturing THC and Keeping Marijuana Grow House

Reduced to Possession of THC With a Fine Only

Manufacturing THC and Drug Trafficking
Two felony Manufacturing THC and Drug Trafficking reduced to possession of THC with a fine only.

Minimum Sentence

OWI 3rd and 4th Felony

Amended to Ticket of Reckless Driving

OWI 1st Offense


Repeated Sexual Assault of a Child

No Jail

OWI 3rd Offense

Not Guilty Verdict

1st Degree Intentional Homicide

Probation on Misdemeanors

Sexual Assault of a Child and Child Enticement

Read More Results

Passionate About Helping People

We Will Guide You Through the Process

Great Reputation
Within the Community

Results-Driven Legal

Our Firm Takes a
Team Approach

Aggressive & Effective
Criminal Defense

Hablamos Español